Hide other sections
School Board General Information





 The Jefferson County School System operates within policies set by a seven (7) member Board of Education.  Board members are elected by district to four-year terms.  The Board provides direction and oversight for all public schools within the county.  The Director of Schools is appointed by the Board of Education and serves as the chief executive officer of the school system.



The Board will transact all business at official meetings which may be either regular or special. Every meeting of the Board, except with the attorney to discuss pending or threatened litigation, will be open to the public.  Open meetings will be physically accessible to all students, employees, and interested citizens. Regular meetings of the Board are held on the fourth (4th) Thursday of each month unless rescheduled by the chair or at other times as scheduled by the Board.  The Board will hold  special called meetings as necessary to transact the business of the Board.  Work sessions are held on the second (2nd) Thursday of each month unless rescheduled by the chair or at other times as scheduled by the Board.  All regular, special called meetings, and work sessions begin at 6:30 p.m. in the media center at Patriot Academy unless relocated by the Board. Each regular meeting has a place on the agenda in which citizens may address the Board about any education related concerns they may have.  The individual will be granted three (3) minutes to speak.



The Director of Schools, as secretary to the Board, is responsible for developing an agenda for each board meeting.  Any board member may place items on the agenda for discussion.  Staff members, students or citizens of the district may suggest items for the agenda.  The agenda is distributed to board members three (3) days prior to the scheduled date of the meeting.  The agenda is available for public inspection and/or distribution when it is distributed to the board members.  At the beginning of each meeting the Board will, by a majority vote, approve the agenda for the meeting, which may involve the addition to or deletion of items previously included in the agenda.



The Director of Schools keeps complete and accurate minutes of all meetings of the Board.  Following the approval by the Board, the minutes are signed by the chairperson and Director of Schools.  The minutes will then become permanent records of the Board and will be made available to interested citizens and the news media upon request.  Minutes from previous meetings are posted on the Jefferson County Schools website as soon as they are approved.  Archival minutes are kept in the Director of Schools office and are available for review upon request.

1030 TN HWY. 92 | DANDRIDGE, TN 37725 | PH: (865) 397-3194 | FX: (865) 397-3301

This site provides external links as a convenience to our users. The appearance of external hyperlinks on the Jefferson County Schools (JCS) website does not constitute endorsement by JCS of the linked websites, or the information, products or services contained therein. JCS does not exercise any editorial control over the content you may find at these locations. JCS has no control over which sites are accessible to users outside of the JCS network. JCS is committed to success and accessibility for all. Please contact us via phone or email if you have difficulty accessing content on any JCS Page.